Saki Zenkoku-hen Episode 1 Could Have Been Improved By…

Yep.

Yep.

…Actually animating things.

As much as I love Saki, the folks at Studio Gokumi tried my patience with this Saki premiere episode. I understand that it costs money to animate, but come on guys, I know you’re all better than that! Basically, what we got with Zenkoku-hen’s debut was a full-blown recap episode with, frankly, badly done new character introductions.

Saki2Now, a recap and intro is not bad in and of itself, but when your premiere episode is a 24-minute slide show, it doesn’t leave me happy. What happened to the heart that went into animating the first episode of the first Saki season? Did Crime Edge and Oda Nobuna really leave that big a hole in the studio’s wallet? I don’t think so, given how well Kiniro Mosaic was animated.

For some reason, people in Japan do not like sitting down in trains even when it's empty.

For some reason, people in Japan do not like sitting down in trains even when it’s empty.

But of course, this is the first episode of a long-standing franchise. It’s very formulaic, but if this is just another one episode thing, I’m more than willing to forgive it. As I’ve read the manga, I’ll just say: “It gets better I swear!” as empty a promise that is.

Come on guys, it's starting to get funny.

Come on guys, it’s starting to get funny.

… Damn, I really wish I could have said something more about this, but yeah, let’s wait for the good stuff first. For now, settle with the rinse and repeat jokes.

Wa ha ha

Wa ha ha

8 thoughts on “Saki Zenkoku-hen Episode 1 Could Have Been Improved By…

  1. Pingback: Saki Zenkoku-hen 1 – Enter the Fray | Yaranakya

  2. Yeah, One of the minus point in this episode is the less than stellar ‘animation’ or some thing like that compare to previous Saki season…
    Hopefully it because they focus on somewhere else and episode one is kinda late in development instead of as an example of what we going to see from now on…

    Overall, it is actually a great episode…
    I pump-up…

  3. Pingback: Saki Zenkoku-hen 2 – The Silent Killers | Yaranakya

Leave a Reply

